Regulations Governing the award

Regulations Governing the Award of

“The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar

Prize for Science and Technology”


  1. The Award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar and is known as the “Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology”.
  2. The Prize is given each year for outstanding contributions to science and technology.
  3. Nature of the Prize

  4. SSB Prizes, each of the value of Rs 1,00,000 (Rupees one lakh only), are awarded annually for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in the following disciplines: (1) Biological, (2) Chemical, (3) Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary, (4) Engineering, (5) Mathematical, (6) Medical, and (7) Physical Sciences.
  5. Purpose

  6. Recognition of outstanding work in science and technology.
  7. Eligibility

  8. Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years as reckoned on 31st December of the year preceding the year of the Prize.
  9. The Prize is bestowed on a person who, in the opinion of CSIR, has made conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress -- fundamental or applied -- in the particular field of endeavour, which is his/her specialization.
  10. The Prize is awarded on the basis of contributions made through work done primarily in India during the five years preceding the year of Prize. (For this purpose ‘primarily’ will mean ‘for the most part’)
  11. Award of the Prize

  12. In awarding the Prize, the Governing Body of CSIR is guided by the recommendations of the Advisory Committees constituted under clause 10.
  13. Nominations

  14. (a) Names of candidates may be proposed by a member of the Governing Body (CSIR); Presidents of approved scientific societies and academies of all-India character; Vice-Chancellors of Universities; deemed Universities and Institutions of national importance; Deans of Science, Engineering, Medical, Agriculture and Technology Faculties; Directors of Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT), Directors-General of the major R&D Organizations, such as the Defence Research & Development Organization, the Indian Council of Agricultural Research, the Indian Council of Medical Research, India Meteorological Department; Chairmen of Atomic Energy Commission, Space Commission, Oil & Natural Gas Corporation, etc.; Directors of CSIR Laboratories, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Physical Research Laboratory, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, etc.; Secretaries of the Department of Environment, the Department of Science & Technology, the Department of Scientific & Industrial Research, the Department of Electronics, the Department of Atomic Energy; the Department of Space; the Department of Biotechnology, etc., Member in-charge (Science) in the Planning Commission; and the Bhatnagar Prize Awardees.
    University Faculties can recommend scientists working in their institutions only and route nominations through their respective Vice-Chancellors, while the Faculties in IITs are required to send their nominations through their Directors. Directors-General of the R&D Organizations and Chairmen of Commissions may sponsor names of scientists working in their respective organizations. The Directors of CSIR Laboratories can nominate candidates in disciplines of their interest irrespective of the fact whether they are working in CSIR laboratories or outside. A Bhatnagar Prize Awardee can send nomination of one person only for each year’s award in his/her own discipline. Nominations from other individuals sponsoring their own names or of others are not acceptable. Each nomination should be accompanied by a detailed statement of work and attainments of the nominee and a critical assessment report (not more than 500 words) bringing out the importance of significant research and development contributions of the nominee made during the five years preceding the year of the Prize. Nominations not made as per the format are unacceptable.

    9. (b) A candidate once nominated would be considered for a total period of three years, if otherwise eligible. Once such a nomination has been received, CSIR can correspond directly with the candidate for supplementary information, if necessary. In case a nominee has resigned from his present position in India and has gone abroad, his nomination would become invalid immediately.

  15. Advisory Committees

  16. The Advisory Committees for each year’s award are constituted with the approval of the Chairman of Governing Body of CSIR. The Committees consist of at least six experts including at least one former SSB awardee in the respective discipline. On receipt of nominations for a particular year, CSIR circulates the list of nominees along with the detailed statement of work and attainments of each candidate to all members of the Advisory Committee related to the concerned discipline. CSIR convenes meetings of the various Committees in consultation with the Chairmen, for selecting the recipients of the SSB Prizes. The compositions of various Committees, the information submitted for their scrutiny, the proceedings of the meetings and procedure for the consideration of the nominations, other than as detailed herein, are kept confidential.
  17. Where the recommendation for the Prize is unanimous or not less than 2/3rd of the members of the Advisory Committees have agreed to one name (or maximum two names in case they are judged to be of equivalent merit), the recommendations are submitted to CSIR.
  18. The award of the Prize in a specific discipline may be withheld by CSIR in any year, if, in the opinion of the Advisory Committee, no sufficiently meritorious candidate is forthcoming in that year.
  19. Presentation

  20. The names of the recipients as per the recommendations of the Advisory Committees are made public on 26 September, the CSIR Foundation Day.
  21. The Prizes are awarded at a formal presentation ceremony arranged by CSIR. At the ceremony, a suitable citation on the work of the recipient of the Prize is read out.
  22. The recipient may deliver an address on the subject in which he/she has made notable contributions at any institution of his/her choice. The awardee may get the address published in one of the CSIR journals.
  23. In all matters of award of SSB Prizes, the decision of CSIR shall be final.